Board of Directors & Legal Representatives

Enlace Externo

Texto del enlace externo

The Board of Directors is the supreme management organism of the company

Board of Directors & Executives

Board of Directors & Legal Representatives

Última actualización 22 sept. 2017

The Board of Directors is the supreme management organism of the company and it´s integrated by nine (9) members without alternates, which are appointed by the General Shareholders Assembly according to provisions established by the company by-laws.
Board of Directors Charter

Board of Directors
  • Mauricio Cárdenas Santamaría

    Minister of Finance (Non independent)

  • Mauricio Cabrera Galvis


  • Yesid Reyes Alvarado


  • Ana Milena López Rocha

    (Non Independent)

  • Jaime Ardila


  • Carlos Cure Cure

    (Independent) Chairman

  • Joaquín Moreno Uribe


  • Horacio Ferreira Rueda

    (Independent, nominated by the hydrocarbon producing provinces)

  • Carlos Gustavo Cano Sanz

    (Independent, nominated by the minority shareholders with the greatest share participation)

Legal Representatives
  • Juan Carlos Echeverry - President - Legal representative

    He has previously served as Colombia’s Minister of Finance and Minister of Economic Planning. During his mandate as Minister of Finance in 2011, four international publications (The Banker, America Economía, Emerging Markets, and Institutional Investor) awarded him as the Best Finance Minister of the Americas. Previously, Mr. Echeverry represented Colombia in the Board of Directors of the Inter‑American Development Bank (Washington D.C.) and served as Dean of Economics at Universidad de los Andes (Bogotá), and Associate Professor of Economics at Instituto de Empresa in Madrid, Spain and in Universidad de los Andes. In 2002 he founded Econcept SAS, a consulting firm on economics dedicated to advice foreign and domestic firms investing in Colombia, serving as expert witness in arbitration and micro and macro-economic consulting. He is the author of several books about the Colombian economy and co‑author of publications focusing on developing economies. Among his work there are econom

  • Felipe Bayon Pardo - Executive Vice president - Legal representative alternate

    has served as the Executive Vice President of Ecopetrol since February 2016. Mr. Bayon holds a degree in Mechanical Engineering from the Universidad de los Andes. He has over 24 years of experience in the oil and gas industry. For the last 20 years, he worked at BP plc, most recently as Senior Vice President of BP America and Head of Global Deepwater Response. From 2005 to 2010, he was the Regional President of BP Southern Cone (South America), and prior to 2005 he worked in BP's headquarters as Chief of Staff to the CEO and the Head of the Executive Office for Exploration and Production. He began his career in 1995 in BP Colombia, as a Project Engineer, where he held various positions until becoming Vice President of Operations in Colombia.

  • Hector Manosalva - Production and Development Vice president - Legal representative alternate

    Joined Ecopetrol in 1986 and has served as Vice President for Development and Production since July 2010. Mr. Manosalva holds a degree in Petroleum Engineering from the Universidad de América in Bogotá, and completed post graduate studies in finance at the Universidad EAFIT and Executive Management at the Universidad de los Andes. Over the course of his career at Ecopetrol, Mr. Manosalva has held various positions, including Executive Vice President for Production and Exploration, Vice President of Production, Production Manager of the Central Region, President of Colombia's Advisor for Safety and Security of National Energy Infrastructure, Director of HSE and Corporate Social Responsibility, Production Manager of the Southern Region and Head of the Production Planning Division.